WW2 German (Late war) project

I’ve been working on this projects very slowly over the last few years but I hadn’t got around to blogging about them before. A late war German army is a pretty popular wargames army (up there with Romans and Space marines) and for WW2 they obviously saw a lot of fighting!

I started collecting figures as opponents for my late war British with the intention of playing a one to one scale set of rules with them. At the time I didn’t have any preference but in the last year or so I have settled on the Battlegroup series by Plastic Soldier company. Although intended for larger scales it can be played easily enough with 6mm figures and I use cm instead of inches and a small dice to mark casualties on an infantry base.

The Germans started out as odd scraps of left over from trades or picked up at bring and buys, but then I decided to concentrate on building enough forces to play the Battlegroup and Kampfgruppe Normandy scenarios.

This latest batch of Germans now gives me enough of a force to play some of the scenarios from the British campaign in Kampgruppe Normandy (more on that in the next blog post).

The figures are a mix of GHQ, H&R, Scotia, CNC and 3D printed objects. I painted with Tamiya Dark Yellow followed by a Dark Yellow whitened, and then the rest was brush work. They were given a dark brown and black washes in places (which are barely visible) and the decals are mostly from i-94 Enterprises including the very cool tanks numbers.

One comment

Leave a comment